Student Challenge

Design the factory of the future and win a year's tuition fees!

Are you up for a challenge, would you like to get to know Avebe and earn a year's tuition fees? If so, sign up for the Avebe student challenge.

Avebe is about to celebrate its 100th anniversary. We look back, but we also look ahead. Could you design the factory of the future for Avebe? Consider questions such as:

• What form will Avebe's production process take in the future?

• How do the factories work?

• How is the potato optimally upgraded to high-quality ingredients with minimal use of energy, chemistry and water?

Sign up for the Student Challenge!

Avebe Student Challenge

Are you a student and are you enrolled at an institute for higher or scientific education? If so, we invite you to sign up for the Avebe Student Challenge. Form a group of up to 4 people and come up with ideas about the factory of the future. The best design is rewarded with one year’s tuition fees for each winning entrant. Registration closes on 14 September.

More information? Download the Avebe Student Challenge flyer here (pdf).



You will find below an overview of frequently asked questions. Do you have a question but can’t find the answer? If so, send an email to

Who can enter?
Anyone who is registered with an institute for higher or scientific education and who is interested in these subjects. You work in groups of up to 4 people.
What are the assessment criteria?
Avebe is looking for the factory of the future. The value of the ingredients from the potato is optimised. This mainly concerns protein, starch and fibres. How do you ensure a maximum yield from the potato, with minimal use of additives such as energy, chemicals and water?
How about the timeline?
14 September: registration closes | 20 September: excursion to the world's largest starch potato factory | 31 December: deadline for handing in paper 'factory of the future' | Mid-January: presentation of the winner during the final day (date tba)
Who's on the jury?
The jury, which selects the three best of all the entries, consists of: Mark Tettelaar, Global Operations Director Edwin de Jonge, Site Director Peter-Erik Ywema, Director of Sustainability Marc Laus, R&D Manager Application Development & Material Science Erik Koops, Investment Development & Portfolio Director An external chairman of the jury is yet to be appointed.
What's the prize?
The prize consists of a sum of money equal to the statutory tuition fees for the Dutch University or University of Applied Sciences in the academic year 2019/20. For a full-time course this is set at € 2083.00. This amount will be paid to the individual members of the winning group. The second prize consists of a voucher of € 100.00 per entrant of the second placed group and the third prize is a voucher of € 50.00 per entrant of the third placed group.